• You are here: 
  • ISAC
  • Members


Increase Font Size Decrease Font Size

Appointments are made on merit and in accordance with the principles of the Code of Practice for Scientific Advisory Committees (CoPSAC) and Code of Practice issued by the Commissioner for Public Appointments.

As of January 2017, the current membership of the Independent Scientific Advisory Committee (ISAC) is as follows:

Professor Deborah Saltman AM (Chair of the ISAC) MBBS MD MRCGP FRACGP FAFPHM GAICD.

Professor Richard Stevens (Deputy Chair) BA MSc PhD
Associate Professor, Medical Statistics Group, Nuffield Dept of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford

Dr Angelyn Bethel MD
Deputy Director, University of Oxford Diabetes Trials Unit

Dr Krishnan Bhaskaran MSc PhD
Senior Lecturer in Statistical Epidemiology, Department of Non-Communicable Diseases Epidemiology, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, London

Professor Sinead Brophy BSc PhD
Professor of CIPHER, College of Medicines, Swansea University.

Dr Benjamin Cairns BA BSc PhD
Senior Statistical Epidemiologist, Cancer Epidemiology Unit, University of Oxford

Mrs Rosie Cornish
Lecturer, School of Social and Community Medicine, University of Bristol

Dr Christopher Edwards BSc (Hons) PhD MIPEM
Consultant Medical Physicist, Aneurin Bevan University Health Board, St Woolos Hospital in Newport, South Wales

Dr Duncan Edwards BSc, MB BS, MRCGP
NIHR Doctoral Research Fellow and GP. Department of Public Health and Primary Care. The School of Clinical Medicine. University of Cambridge

Professor Peter Helms MBBS PhD FRCP FRCPCH FFSEM
Emeritus Professor of Child Health, University of Aberdeen

Dr Caroline Jackson BSc, MSC, PhD
Chancellors Fellow, Institute of Population Health Sciences and Informatics, University of Edinburgh.

Professor Umesh T Kadam MRCGP MPhil MSc PhD FFPH
Professor of Health Services Research & Clinical Epidemiology, Keele University, Staffordshire

Dr Wendy Knibb MSc (Econ.) PhD (Health Econ.)
Independent Health Economics consultant

Dr Evangelos Kontopantelis PhD
Reader, Farr Institute for Health Informatics Research, The University of Manchester

Professor Benjamin A. Lipsky MD FACP FIDSA FRCP
Deputy Director, Graduate Entry Course, University of Oxford Medical School

Dr Emily McFadden MA (Cantab) MSc PhD
Senior Statistical Epidemiologist - Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford

Ms Sally Malin BA (Hons) MA (Cantab) MSc (Econ) (Lay member)

Professor Simon Mitchell MD MRCP FRCPCH DCH DRCOG
Consultant Neonatologist, Newborn Intensive Care Unit, St Mary's Hospital, Manchester

Professor Keith Neal
Emeritus Professor in the Epidemiology of Infectious Diseases, University of Nottingham and Consultant Epidemiologist, for the Field Epidemiology Service, Public Health England

Dr Jennifer Quint PhD
Clinical Senior Lecturer Respiratory Epidemiology, National Heart and Lung Institute, Imperial College London

Ms Marcia Saunders BA MA MSc (Lay member)
Chair, North West London Local Education and Training Board

Dr Sara Thomas PhD
Clinical Senior Lecturer (Epidemiology) Faculty of Epidemiology and Population Health,
London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine

Dr Hester Ward
Consultant in Public Health Medicine (Health Informatics).

Prof. Ian Wong
Chair in Pharmacy Practice, UCL School of Pharmacy.